Workshop on Privacy in the Electronic Society

Virtual - November 9, 2020

Call for Papers

The Information Revolution has thoroughly transformed society. One of the major implications of this technological shift has been a massive increase in the collection, sharing, and analysis of personal data. The goal of this workshop is to discuss the privacy problems that result as well as their solutions. This will be the 19th occurrence of this annual forum, which is held in conjunction with the ACM CCS conference.

The workshop seeks submissions from academia, government, and industry presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of electronic privacy, as well as experimental studies of fielded systems, and systematization of knowledge (SoK) submissions. We encourage submissions from other communities such as law and business that present these communities’ perspectives on technological issues. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Paper Submissions

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Regular submissions should be at most 12 pages in the ACM double-column format (specifically, the sigconf format) excluding bibliography and well-marked appendices. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions should be anonymized. The workshop will also consider short submissions of up to 4 pages (excluding bibliography) for results that are preliminary or that simply require few pages to describe. Authors of regular submitted papers will indicate at the time of submission whether they would like their paper to also be considered for publication as a short paper (4 pages).

Submissions are to be made on the submission site. You will be requested to upload the file of your paper (in PDF format only). Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of July 23, 2020 to be considered. Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by August 26, 2019. The camera ready must be prepared by September 13, 2019. Proceedings of the workshop will be published by ACM on a CD, available to the workshop attendees. Papers will be included in the ACM Digital Library, with a specific ISBN. Each accepted paper must be presented by an author, who will have to be registered by the early-bird registration deadline.

CCS Notification Extension. Because of the delay in the notification of ACM CCS, we will accept submissions of papers to WPES that are still under consideration for CCS. These papers must be submitted by the regular deadline just like other papers. In addition, they must check the corresponding box in HotCRP; and authors must notify the chairs about the CCS decision outcome within 24 hours of CCS notification. Any papers that did not receive a “reject” submission must be withdrawn.

Important Dates

Paper Submission due:
July 23, 2020 (11:59 PM Anywhere on Earth (UTC-12)) Firm deadline
Notification to authors:
August 26, 2020
Camera ready due:
September 6 13, 2020

Program Chairs

Wouter Lueks
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Paul Syverson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Program Committee

Ruba Abu-Salma
Inria, France
Mahdi Nasrullah Al-Ameen
Utah State University, USA
Sebastian Angel
University of Pennsylvania, USA
Ahmad Bashir
ICSI Berkeley, USA
Eleanor Birrell
Pomona College, USA
Eric Chan-Tin
Loyola University, USA
Camille Cobb
Carnegie Mellon University, USA
George Danezis
University College London, UK / Facebook Calibra
Anupam Das
North Caroline State University, USA
Emiliano De Cristofaro
University College London, UK
Josep Domingo-Ferrer
Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain
Joan Feigenbaum
Yale, USA
Ellis Fenske
U.S. Naval Academy, USA
Simone Fischer-Hübner
Karlstad University, Germany
Sébastien Gambs
Université du Québec à Montréal, Québec, Canada
Chaya Ganesh
IISc Bangalore, India
Simson Garfinkel
U.S. Census Bureau, USA
Adrià Gascón
Google Research, USA
Wajih Ul Hassan
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Ryan Henry
University of Calgary, Canada
Nicholas Hopper
University of Minnesota, USA
Aaron Johnson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Marc Juarez
USC Viterbi, USA
Aniket Kate
Purdue University, USA
Stefan Katzenbeisser
TU Darmstadt, Germany
Katharina Kohls
Ruhr Universitaet Bochum, Germany
Chelsea H. Komlo
University of Waterloo, Canada
Pierre Laperdrix
CNRS, France
Peeter Laud
Cybernetica AS, Estonia
Adam J. Lee
University of Pittsburgh, USA
Ada Lerner
Wellesley College, USA
Yifang Li
Clemson University, USA
Akshaya Mani
University of Waterloo, Canada
Piotr Mardziel
Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Travis Mayberry
U.S. Naval Academy, USA
Pedro Moreno-Sanchez
TU Vienna, Austria
Shirin Nilizadeh
University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Rishab Nithyanand
University of Iowa, USA
Melek Önen
Rebekah Overdorf
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Simon Oya
University of Waterloo, Canada
Andriy Panchenko
Brandenburg Technical University, Germany
Indrakshi Ray
Colorado State University, USA
Abbas Razaghpanah
UC Berkeley, USA
Joel Reardon
University of Calgary, Canada
Kui Ren
University at Buffalo, USA
Alfredo Rial
University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Vera Rimmer
KU Leuven, Belgium
Reihaneh Safavi-Naini
University of Calgary, Canada
Thomas Schneider
Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
Phillipp Schoppmann
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany
Wendy Seltzer
Berkman Klein Center, USA
Zubair Shafiq
University of Iowa, USA
Fatemeh Shirazi
Web3 Foundation, Switzerland
Qiang Tang
New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Ryan Wails
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Susanne Wetzel
Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Tara Whalen
Google, USA

Steering committee

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sushil Jajodia
George Mason University, USA
Pierangela Samarati (Chair)
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Paul Syverson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA